“I have some fond memories……”

Tribute to Jack Goldin

Regarding my tenure at Clicks, I have some fond memories and really enjoyed working for the company. Clicks was my first real job ever and while I was only twenty one years old and very “green”, I quickly learned what Jack Goldin’s standards and expectations were. I really admired and respected him for his passion for the business and his tough but fair approach. Here are some memories I’d like to share:

  • Mr. Goldin paid a visit to the St. Georges Street store where I was a trainee manager. He was not very happy with the state of the store and loudly reprimanded the Manager. This culminated with Mr. Goldin telling the Manager  to take his jacket and leave immediately. As the Manager approached the front door with his jacket on, Mr. Goldin shouted: “Mr. X, where the hell do you think you’re going? Get back in here now and get this store in order!
  • Shortly after I was promoted to a Manager position, all the Managers were summoned to Head Office to attend a meeting with Mr. Goldin.  The agenda on the meeting was a variety of topics but the meeting began with Mr. Goldin asking about the memorandum that had gone out to stores the day prior. He asked Manager X to explain the memo, to which the Manager X replied: “sorry, I didn’t quite get around to reading it yet”. Mr. Goldin paused for a moment and then replied sternly: “Mr. X, meet me in my office in one minute”. Five minutes later, Mr. Goldin returned and stated: “Mr. X is no longer with us. Now……who would like to explain yesterday’s memorandum?”
  • During my trainee apprenticeship in one of the stores,  the Manager always wanted to stay after hours and go through every fine detail of the store to ensure it was always perfect. Almost every night, we would stay late after closing. This situation really suited me because I was pulling in great overtime pay! However, after a month or two during one of Mr. Goldin’s visits, he questioned the Manager as to why our store’s payroll account was consistently out of line compared to the other stores. When the reason become apparent, Mr. Goldin told the Manager that if he couldn’t manage the store in the allotted hours, he would get someone who could. Needless to say, my new-found additional income had suddenly come to an end!
  • Mr. Goldin visited the Three Anchor Bay store which I was managing at the time. This was the 1970’s and as a former hippie, I was proudly wearing my hair quite long. After the store review we walked to the exit and he turned to me and said firmly: “Store is good but Mr. Stark, get a haircut, you’re in the army now!

Philip Stark – employed at Clicks 1971-1973

 

About Matteo Coné

Matteo joined the Clicks Brand in 1974 as a Trainee Manager and spent the first nine years of his career in operational management roles within stores. In 1983 he was promoted to the role of Buyer and joined the Merchandise Division. During the following twenty seven years, he applied his extensive buying expertise to various categories and assisted the business in growing from a small retailer to the national household name that it is today. Matteo has not only gained the respect of his many colleagues through the years, but also with the many suppliers that he has dealt with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

